Reporting

Fee Controlling for Custodian Banks

Low-maintenance monitoring of fees and reimbursements.

Effectively meet the challenges arising from BaFin’s Custodian Bank Circular (Depotbankrundschreiben) through business process outsourcing.

Circular 6/2010 (WA) dated 2 July 2010 (Custodian Bank Circular) from the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) has resulted in closer scrutiny of requirements on custodial banks under the Investment Act. According to the Circular, management fees and reimbursements charged to investment funds by asset managers are subject to auditing, the complexity of which can drive up costs.

IDS GmbH – Analysis and Reporting Services (IDS) offers custodian banks a managed service for calculation and validation of the fees. The support ranges from assistance with daily monitoring of fee components in net asset value, to verification of complex outperformance fee calculations.
 
As an independent service provider, IDS is able to offer the service based on either Model 1 or Model 2 of the Custodian Bank Circular. Under Model 1, the asset management company and the custodian bank both utilize the IDS service. With Model 2, the custodian bank uses the IDS service as its own system for fee controlling.

Access to the long-standing expertise of IDS in fee calculation, along with utilization of the economies of scale offered by IDS – one of world’s largest managed service providers – helps clients meet their regulatory obligations with minimum effort, and effectively curb human resource and material cost escalation.

Related Products

Outperformance Fee

Reporting

Gebührencontrolling für Depotbanken

Aufwandsarme Kontrolle der Vergütung und des Aufwendungsersatzes.

Herausforderungen aus dem Depotbankrundschreiben durch Business Process Outsourcing wirksam begegnen.

Das Rundschreiben 6/2010 (WA) der Bundesanstalt für die Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht vom 02.07.2010 (Depotbankrundschreiben) führt zu einer schärferen Wahrnehmung der investmentrechtlichen Anforderungen an Depotbanken. Die darin konkretisierte Prüfung der Verwaltungsvergütung und des Aufwendungsersatzes, die den Investmentfonds von der Kapitalanlagegesellschaft in Rechnung gestellt werden, stellt dabei wegen ihrer Komplexität einen Kostentreiber dar.

Die IDS GmbH – Analysis and Reporting Services (IDS) bietet Depotbanken die Berechnung und Prüfung der Gebühren als Managed Service an. Die Unterstützung reicht von der Mitwirkung bei der täglichen Kontrolle der Gebührenabgrenzungen im Nettoinventarwert bis zur Nachrechnung komplexer erfolgsabhängiger Vergütungsmodelle (Outperformance-Fee).

Aufgrund der Unabhängigkeit von IDS kann der Service sowohl im Wege des Modells 1 als auch im Wege des Modells 2 im Sinne des Depotbankrundschreibens genutzt werden. Im Modell 1 greifen die Kapitalanlagegesellschaft und auch die Depotbank gemeinsam auf den IDS-Service zu. Im Modell 2 nutzt die Depotbank den IDS-Service als eigenes System für die Gebührenkontrolle.

Der Rückgriff auf das langjährige Know-how von IDS bei der Gebührenberechnung und die Nutzung des Größenvorteils von IDS – einem der großen weltweit operierenden Managed Service Provider – helfen, aufsichtsrechtliche Anforderungen aufwandsarm zu erfüllen und Personal- und Sachkostensteigerungen wirksam zu begrenzen.